Wemple Farm in NY

In researching my 9th great grandfather – Jan Barentsen (Poest) Wemple (or Wemp) who lived from 1620-1663 and died in Fort Orange, I came across some information on the Wemple Farm. I believe this was built by his son Jan Wemple (1656-1743). As you can see, it stayed in the family for almost 200 years and is still standing (to be best of my knowledge).

There’s a whole article with lots of pictures of the house and farm that was on sale a few years ago for $1.1M. It looks like they’ve done a great job of renovating the house and kept a lot of the original land.

I also found a few great B&W photos from the Historic American Buildings Survey.

The property also includes a family graveyard.

I also found this old mention of him in a book…

This also led me to find this Wemple historical marker and the fact that there’s a Wemple Road.