200th Anniversary Dutch Church Schenectady

This is from 1880, but it’s a book commemorating the 200th anniversary of the Dutch Church in Schenectady. It’s interesting based on the fact that there are 57 references to “Van Antwerpen” in there along with many other names you’d recognize from the beginning of our family tree in the US. A PDF version was available to download and share which I’ve done below.

What I was actually trying to research was to find any record of the following…

“On 14 March 1909, a white marble tablet, suitably engraved to the memory of Daniel Janse Van Antwerpen, was presented to the First Reformed Church of Schenectady by Daniel Lewis Van Antwerp, of Troy, a descendant of the donor of the land on which the church is built. “

Another page in there that’s interesting lists out the original 15 persons in Schenectady which includes:

  • Symon Vokerts Veeder de Bakker (my 9th great grandfather)
  • Sander Leendertse Green (my 10th great grandfather)
  • Catalyntje De Vas (my 10th great grandmother)
  • Pieter Jacobse Borsboone (my 9th great grandfather)
  • Jan Barentse Wemp (my 9th great grandfather)
  • Harmen Albertse Vedder (my 10th great grandfather)